The Brazilian Foreign Office bases its actions on reciprocity; therefore, visas are required for visitors of several nationalities, including Australia , Canada , Japan and the USA . Scientists, professors, researchers attending cultural, technological or scientific seminars or conferences should apply for a tourist visa at the nearest Brazilian Embassy or Consulate. Requirements include a passport valid for at least six months prior to its expiration date , one recent individual passport size photograph ( full-frontal, white background) and a photocopy of round-trip airline ticket. Most international airlines can advise on visa requirements for tourists.

Visa Waiver
Citizens of the following countries do not need visas when traveling to Brazil for tourism purposes for a period of up to 90 days:

  • Andorra, Argentina, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bermuda, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Monaco, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Surinam, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunis, Turkey, Uruguay, Vatican.

If there is any doubt regarding the need for a visa, please contact the nearest consulate.

First entry requirement
You must enter Brazil within 90 days from the date your visa was issued; otherwise that visa will no longer be valid. After entering the country, you may stay up to 90 days from the date of entry, unless otherwise stated in the visa.

International Vaccination Certificate
Upon entry in Brazil those who have visited any of the countries listed below within the previous 90 days are required to present a valid International Yellow Fever vaccination certificate:

  • Peru, Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guyana, Venezuela, Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Congo, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guine, Liberia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Sudan.

Yellow fever vaccination is recommended for those who intend to visit one of the following regions in Brazil :

  • Acre, Amapá, Amazonas, Federal District , Goiás, Maranhão, Mato Grosso, Mato Grosso do Sul, Pará, Rondônia, Roraima, Tocantins.